Poem: “I Am Libya”

Tripoli, Libya

Tripoli, Libya

I Am Libya
by Tarek

I am Libya.

I am the free Libyan sons,
strong, loyal, and revolutionary.

I am the free Libyan daughters,
independent, empowered, and proud.

I am the university students,
eager and bright.

I am the elders,
kind and revered.

I am the Libya of the tribes and their heritage.
I am the Libya of the cities and their prosperity.

I am the Libya of art, music, and literature
of modernity, industry, and innovation.

I am the Libya where no voice falls on deaf ears
and all people have the power of Kings and Queens.

I am the jeweled crown
of beautiful queen Africa.

I am green, fertile Libya
producing crops in former arid desert.

I am strong-willed and refuse to be exploited.

I am the Libya of Muammar al-Gaddafi.

Leave a Reply

